Twin City Theater and Cultural Festival

Standard

unnamed unnamed (1)

This is why Mallik opened his doors two years ago, I’d think to myself as I watched over the event from above. The ground floor was covered with bodies all seated around the stage.

A young man with dark earth skin, dressed in a long red kurta spoke out to the crowd from the stage. I couldn’t make out what he was saying. I hadn’t learned hindi, yet. But I read his body, the emotion of his voice. It was dark outside. And a yellow, reddish light lit up the stage, his face.

I hadn’t seen Roots this alive and full, so many new-young faces.

“I’ve counted a hundred heads” one of the main organizers from Twin City Theater Festival would inform me.

I was joyful, excited. In just a day Twin City Theater Festival had transformed our space. They’d decorated our walls and garden with Art.  And our co-working space had been altered into a small textile market.

This would go down in my notes, another example of the fascinating potential of an Open Space. So much can happen just by the simple act of opening your doors and letting your community bring it to life. All it takes is having the capacity to let go and trust the outside world, realizing that maybe you don’t have all the answers. And do they bring answers. Answers to questions you didn’t even think existed.

And that night, as the light lit up our stage and I was invited to sing, acoustic, about how we’re all literally from the same universe, it dawned upon me. It didn’t really matter where you were on Earth. If you wanted progress, joy, happiness etc. you could make it happen no matter where you are.

As I got off the stage, my feat against the pavement of the community floor, my heart recognized a penetrating yester year of sing and dance and truth.

BY Natale Danko

 

Leave a Reply

